Lompat ke konten Lompat ke sidebar Lompat ke footer

Kinds of love languages and their meanings


Kinds of love languages and their meanings

GLOBAL DIGITAL TIMES | Kinds of love languages and their meanings - Relationship consultant Gary Chapman, author of The Five Languages of Love, concludes after 35 years of marriage counseling, that there are basically 5 emotional love languages that people can speak, show, and understand love People in relationships often have different love languages.

It's why over time, couples can have conflict when they feel misunderstood, ignored, or restrained. A common thought that people might think when their love languages don't match is

"𝐈 𝐰𝐢𝐬𝐡 𝐡𝐞 𝐜𝐨𝐮𝐥𝐝 𝐥𝐨𝐯𝐞 𝐦𝐞 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐰𝐚𝐲 𝐈 𝐥𝐨𝐯𝐞 𝐡𝐢𝐦" 𝐚𝐧𝐝 "𝐇𝐞 𝐜𝐨𝐮𝐥𝐝 𝐠𝐢𝐯𝐞 𝐦𝐞 𝐦𝐨𝐫𝐞 𝐬𝐩𝐚𝐜𝐞" 𝐃𝐨 𝐭𝐡𝐞𝐬𝐞 𝐬𝐨𝐮𝐧𝐝 𝐟𝐚𝐦𝐢𝐥𝐢𝐚𝐫 𝐭𝐨 𝐲𝐨𝐮?

Understanding how you two communicate love is important for growing together in your relationship.  Here are Chapman's 5 types of Love Languages:

1. Compliments

This type of love language involves using words to show that you love someone. Someone who prefers this love language would prefer hearing you say "I love you" and other compliments

They appreciate nice words that show your support and concern for them. Rude, negative and insulting comments should be avoided as they will hurt deeply and are not easily forgotten or forgiven.

2. Quality time

This love language involves giving your partner your undivided attention. Unlike compliments,  someone with this love language appreciates it when their partner spends time with them. 

It's normal for your schedule to get filled up as you get older with more responsibilities. But it's important for you to free up time to be with your partner. Distractions, postponed dates, or failure to listen attentively
can make them feel hurt and let down

3. Prizes

A person with this love language prefers to receive gifts to feel loved. This doesn't have to mean that the person is materialistic.

It makes them feel appreciated when you take the time to find something just right for them It's not about how expensive the gift is or whether it's a designer brand but they care more about how much you know about them

4. Service

Have you ever heard the saying "Actions speak louder than words"? For people with this love language, this saying is perfect for them. These people prefer their partner to help out when things get complicated in life

Offering help is the best way to win over them It is advised not to break promises, show laziness, or have a bad work ethic People with this love language appreciate the help you do for them and appreciate any hard work you do that shows you are thinking of them

5. Physical touch

This love language involves everyday physical relationships such as holding hands, hugging, cuddling, kissing, and other types of physical relationships. People with this love language prefer affectionate touch to kind words and compliments

This does not necessarily mean they are aggressive about public displays of affection but lovingly touching them makes them feel loved and valued. Any form of physical abuse or violence will never be tolerated.